TAKING THE WHEEL

Hasty from passenger to driver

FEARING CRAZY

road-932871_960_720

I should have known

The road would wind

All roads do eventually

I was a passenger

Enjoying the scenery

When the sky changed

It tried to warn me

TURN BACK NOW

But I didn’t listen

I just sat and watched

The rolling hills pass

The trees gather

Then disperse

The farmhouses

The communities

The small towns

Come

Then go

So many different places

So many different lives

Struggling, living, dying

The clouds grew thicker

The rain increased

The wind kicked up

And hail began to fall

I was determined

To ride out the storm

But…

The driver had jumped

I was alone

Speeding into chaos

And nobody

Was at the wheel

I wish I could say

I took quick action

But I didn’t

I thought for a time

About staying put

Letting the invisible man

Take the wheel

And then

For another bit of time

I cried

I let the…

View original post 94 more words

Leave a Reply

