#BeREALationships: HERE’S MY LINE IN THE SAND

I agree, that the children of stepchildren are real grandchildren.

HASTYWORDS

#BeREALationships welcomes Michelle Poston Combs.

travel-933171_960_720

We’re in the 21st century and we still struggle when defining family. Which is stupid, your family is who you say your family is. It’s quite simple.

My husband and I have been together for 21 years. His daughters became part of my life when they were 9 and 12 years old.

I tiptoed around their lives as their stepmother, careful not to step on toes. As it were, it doesn’t matter how lightly you tread, if you are a step parent, your very existence dictates that occasionally toes will be stepped on.

When my older step daughter got married, her grandparents argued with the wedding coordinator the night before her wedding over when it was appropriate for me to walk down the aisle. I’m pretty sure they would have preferred I walked down the aisle after the janitor arrived to clean up after the…

View original post 427 more words

Leave a Reply

