THIRTY DAYS HATH NOVEMBER – ACCEPTING A CHALLENGE? 1 of 30?

penandpaper

So, there’s this challenge, NABloPoMo, to crank out a blog post every day this month. That is a bit daunting for one who has not managed even one new one a month for some time. Really, it is one of those writerly things of not waiting on inspiration and just sitting down and writing something, anything, every day. I have been writing every day, but mostly comments on other people’s posts and blogs as the list I follow grows. I can’t stop that, but the challenge comes at a time I’ve been grumbling at myself for not making my own new stuff, and it is coming up to my first blogaversary. It seems a good time to try to do this. Damn, there comes a saying learned from friends who were in 12 Step programs, “Trying is lying.” meaning, “Don’t try to do it, just do it.” We shall see how this goes. I find it easy to forget that it doesn’t have to be profound or important or beautiful or inspiring or poetic, just real.

What’s real this morning? I am sick, tired, and disgusted with this election, with campaigns that never seem to end, with ugliness and accusations that have little to do with actual governance, with breathless reporting on the latest hint of scandal, with serious sounding analysis of poll results within a margin of error, and predictions of catastrophe if the wrong one wins (even the ones with which I tend to agree), and I’m not even following it on TV or subjecting myself to the adds there. It has gone on just too damned long. I already voted and just want it over. Which brings to mind a quote:

“When you’re too entertained to move, screaming is good exercise.” [World Entertainment War]

nanopoblano2016

One thought on “THIRTY DAYS HATH NOVEMBER – ACCEPTING A CHALLENGE? 1 of 30?

Leave a Reply

