An imperative bridge

Beth makes an argument that is remarkably sensible unless one is a true absolutist of one sort or another. Read, think, and, please, then think some more, let it sink in. And, also, please remember it is her presentation, so I will not engage with anybody who tries to jump all over me about it.

Beth Teliho

I’m going to talk about abortion. I know, it’s a word weighted with emotion, but I am approaching the subject from a different angle that I know you will benefit from no matter where you stand on the matter. I implore you to hear me out.

Two enormous misconceptions exist on the subject of abortion, and they are the reason for the seemingly unbridgeable divide between pro-life and pro-choice. No one will ever “win” that argument because we’re focused on polar outcomes.

The misconceptions are as follows:

  1. Making abortion illegal stops abortion
  2. Pro-choice means pro-abortion. (No woman wants to have an abortion. Nor does any woman want another woman to go through one)

If we can’t get past these misconceptions, the fight will never cease. That is a sad notion to me because we are so much stronger together.

Current narrative: The chasm between pro-life and pro-choice can never be closed.

View original post 649 more words

Leave a Reply

