I am the “Whitest Black Woman” You will ever meet

Devon and identity and disconnection

Devon J Hall

I’ve heard this a few times over the years. Most people who have the balls to say something so stupid think it’s a compliment. In reality it’s sad.

I was raised by white people. The only image I have of Black culture is an abusive drug addicted father. I had no connection as I was growing up to Black Culture.

As a Spiritualist I know that I above all others am supposed to be welcoming and kind to all people, regardless of their beliefs lifestyles or whatever other categories people use to label themselves. As a human being it angers me to no end that the likes of Shawn King and Rachel Dolezal are continuing this narrative of pretending to be something they aren’t. Especially because they have been welcomed by the Black Community in a way I never was. Perhaps it stems from jealousy and perhaps it stems from…

View original post 666 more words

Leave a Reply

