How Is a Rape Victim Supposed To Behave?

Devon writes – the subject is rape and the uniqueness of each victim’s experience and path to healing.

Devon J Hall

statistics-on-sexual-assaultI admit that Doctor Phil is a guilty pleasure. I admit that I look at some victims and I wonder what makes them so special – why do some victims get support, and get called heroes for sharing their stories when so many, myself included, get ignored?

But the words “how a rape victim is supposed to behave” should never be a sentence that leaves your mouth.

On today’s episode of Dr. Phil a woman name Kristi is trying to make her in-laws choose between her and her sister in law. I won’t go into the personal relationships because I don’t know these people and I don’t care.

What I care about is the fact that anyone on this show, anyone in the world had the balls to say “That is not how a rape victim behaves.”

The one thing that we rape victims have is our power over our…

View original post 700 more words

Leave a Reply

