Self-Portrait at 18 and Deep Light

Charlotte Chadwick has some lovely poetry on OTV.

Open Thought Vortex

By Charlotte Chadwick

Self-Portrait at 18:  I was secret and becoming wolfish

1.

I walk on the beach and the breeze slaps my face

and as usual I talk to you

and I almost hear you

respond

I have so many questions unspeakable frozen hot

all the small details you have

so far thrown me

I have gathered up

and I wear them close to my chest

and I touch them shining

as if by accident

one by one from start to finish

I want to kiss and pray to the furthest part of you

there are seagulls

there is a hell of a sky

you would like it

2.

repeating your exact phrase

to keep it in my body

the outer shell colours my breath

as its meanings change

gobstopper sweet

red amber green

the word residue clings

to my teeth and chokes me as

it sticks to the…

View original post 372 more words

One thought on “Self-Portrait at 18 and Deep Light

Leave a Reply

